Art Activity: Plaster Casting

So I tried to make this art activity happen. I’ve never done anything like this before, particularly with sand! To be brief, it did not work for me. After 6 or so attempts I kept having the sand collapse around my hand. I did this project at home, so I bought sand from Home Depot and the Plaster of Paris from Amazon. I believe the sand was the biggest issue; it just kept falling apart and not holding shape. I wanted to get a mold of my hand but other than the tip of my fingers I had no luck. Attached are pictures. I even tried to use a mannequin’s hand that I had lying around somewhere. Nope.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wonder what I could’ve done differently. Hopefully next time will be better.

Leave a Reply

